Clinical Trial Committee

Clinical Trials Technical Committee

The Clinical Trials Technical Committee (CTTC) has been established by Director General under Section 13 of TMDA Act, Cap 219 in order to provide independent technical advice to Director General.

Members of the CTTC provide technical advice to assure that clinical trials are designed, conducted, analyzed and reported in accordance with TMDA and ICH guidelines. In this respect, their recommendations are expected to be scientific and evidence based.

Members of the Clinical Trial Technical Committee (CTTC) are expected to be prudent, transparent, independent, and committed to their professional ethics while discussing all matters pertaining to clinical trials.

Composition of Committee

The CTTC is composed of experts with knowledge and experience in at least the following fields:-

  1. Clinical Trials
  2. Medical Research
  3. Clinical Pharmacology
  4. Clinica Epidemiology
  5. Medicine
  6. Dental Surgery
  7. Pharmacy
  8. Medical Statistics
  9. Public Health
  10. Toxicology
  11. Microbiology
  12. Pathology
  13. Regulatory Affairs

The CTTC meets once quarterly and the current members are as listed in the table;

No Name Title Background/ Field
1. Ms. Joyce Ikingura Chair Person Research ethics/ Bioethics
2. Mr. Akida M. Khea Secretary Regulatory Affairs
3. Dr. Billy Ngasala Member Parasitology and Medical Entomology
4. Prof. Mecky Matee Member Microbiology
5. Dr. Omar Lweno Member Medical Research/ Clinical Trials
6. Dr. Jenifa Metodi Member Paediatrics
7. Dr. Mwanaidi Kafuye Member Research ethics/ Bioethics
8. Dr. Doreen Mloka Member Pharmaceutical Microbiology
9. Prof. John Lusingu Member Medical Research/Clinical Trials

The Committee serves for three (3) years and the tenure of the current Committee will come to an end on 31st January 2022.